Home

Kajal Agarwal, a second-year public affairs and policy management student, writes about her exciting experience planning the CU Amazing Race.


Planning and executing a large scale event for the first time can be a difficult challenge for many. With this however, comes the chance to make mistakes and learn from them. As an Event Promotions and Student Success Peer Helper for the Student Experience Office, I was given the wonderful opportunity of planning the CU Amazing Race, along with a few other students.

You may be wondering how I came upon such a wonderful opportunity? I applied to become a Peer Helper! This is a volunteer position in which I devote a few hours a week to the Student Experience Office and I plan and promote events on Carleton campus for students. My latest task was planning the CU Amazing Race! Becoming a Peer Helper has so far been a wonderful experience! I love the atmosphere, the people and the work I do. I think it is an amazing way to give back to the Carleton campus, and to meet new people.

In my first year at Carleton, back last September 2012, I was a person who kept to themselves and just did their work on campus and left. This year, I promised myself that I would make a difference on campus by getting involved! So far, this has worked out great!

This year, along with being a Peer Helper, I am also a First-in-Family Peer Mentor for the Student Experience Office. I really enjoy this position as well! In the past few months, as a Peer Mentor, I have learned that many people approach challenges in their lives in different ways. I really enjoy being a part of their journey at Carleton.

Getting involved on campus is a very rewarding experience! Not only do you connect and interact with various groups of people, you also take on new challenges that ease you from the tension from school. Sometimes, you just need to get away from the books and the work, and spend some time doing something you enjoy! Also, Carleton has the Co-Curricular Record (CCR) which allows students to get recognized for the volunteering they do. By adding all volunteer activities to the CCR, students may use it to show to future employers and schools that they participated in events and activities on campus.

Getting involved on campus has opened many new doors for me, and I am sure this is only the beginning and it will get better from here! I look forward to participating in more events at Carleton!

Submitted by Kajal Agarwal, a second-year public affairs and policy management student.


For more information on the Peer Helper Program, visit carleton.ca/seo/leadership-development/peer-helper-program/

Leave a Comment

